Online Orchestra Wows Sydney

Everyone has heard of YouTube but have you heard of the YouTube Symphony Orchestra? The YouTube Symphony Orchestra consists of 101 musicians from all over the world – from 33 countries to be exact. Each member of the orchestra was selected through an online audition and voting process.  The musicians and soloists all came together earlier this month (March 15-20) for a week of music making, culminating in the Grand Finale concert held at the Sydney Opera House.

Besides featuring several international performing artists, the concert also featured animated visuals on the interior and exterior projections by Obscura Digital, all synchronised to the music of the YouTube Symphony Orchestra 2011‘s performance. Sand artist, Kseniya Simonova is also featured in the performance of Ascending Bird – Suite for string orchestra.

The concert was conducted by YouTube Symphony Orchestra Artistic Advisor Michael Tilson Thomas. You can read more about the YouTube Symphony and an interview with Michael Tilson Thomas here (from the March edition of the ABC’s Limelight).

And now, enjoy the concert! You can watch the whole performance below, which includes the interval, or pick and choose the sections you would like to watch (see program below the video). Alternatively, you can check out the daily highlights or concert highlights by clicking here.


0:02:05   Introduction by MTT

0:03:20   Hector Berlioz – Roman Carnival – Overture, Op. 9 (featuring Android Jones – digital artist)

0:13:00   Meet Maria Chiossi – Harp

0:18:10   Percy Grainger – Arrival on a Platform Humlet from in a Nutshell – Suite

0:22:20   Johan Sebastian Bach – Toccata in F major for organ (featuring Cameron Carpenter)

0:30:00   Meet Paulo Calligopoulos – Electric Guitar and violin

0:32:55   Alberto Ginastera – Danza del trigo (Wheat Dance) and Danza final (Malambo) from the ballet Estancia (conducted by Ilyich Rivas)

0:42:22   Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – ‘Caro’ bell’idol mio’ – Canon in three voices, K562 (featuring the Sydney Children’s Choir and soprano Renee Fleming via video)

0:45:14   Meet Xiomara Mass – Oboe

0:48:42 Benjamin Britten – The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra, Op. 34

1:07:25   Intermission with Sarah Willis, Horn, Berlin Philharmoniker and Nina Perlove, Flute, YouTube Symphony Orchestra 2009

1:29:00   William Barton – Kalkadunga (featuring William Barton – Didgeridoo)

1:34:14   Timothy Constable – Suna

1:37:38   Meet Roman Riedel – Trombone

1:41:33   Richard Strauss – Fanfare for the Vienna Philharmonic (featuring Sarah Willis, Horn, Berlin Philharmoniker and conducted by Edwin Outwater)

1:44:10   *PREMIERE* Mason Bates – Mothership (specially composed for the YouTube Symphony Orchestra 2011)

1:55:34   Meet Su Chang – Guzheng

1:58:33   Felix Mendelssohn – Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64 (Finale) (featuring Stefan Jackiw and conducted by Ilyich Rivas)

2:05:45   Meet Ozgur Baskin – Violin

2:08:56   Colin Jacobsen and Siamak Aghaei – Ascending Bird – Suite for string orchestra (featuring Colin Jacobsen, violin, and Richard Tognetti, violin, and Kseniya Simonova – sand artist)

2:16:50   Meet Stepan Grytsay – Violin

2:20:12   Igor Stravinsky – The Firebird (Infernal Dance – Berceuse – Finale)

2:36:00   *ENCORE* Franz Schubert – Rosamunde (featuring Andrew Mariner – clarinet)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s